Women Tech Awards 2009


Women Tech Council and MountainWest Capital Network Recognized
Six Award Recipients Selected From Sixteen Finalists

SALT LAKE CITY, Sept. 24, 2009 — Sixteen women were recognized at the second annual Women Tech Awards Ceremony, presented by Women Tech Council and MountainWest Capital Network, which recognizes technology-focused women who are driving innovation, leading technology companies, and are key contributors to the community. The sold out event was emceed by Shauna Lake of KUTV 2 news Marguerite Hancock, Associate Director of Stanford Program on Regions of Innovation and Entrepreneurship, keynoted the event

Six Award Recipients were announced. Award presenters from EnergySolutions, Ernst & Young, Epic Ventures, Novell, USTAR, and Workman Nydegger recognized the following women:

Lex Watterson, President of MountainWest Capital Network, said, "This unique Award program will continue to grow as it recognizes great women who provide leadership in technology and business here in Utah."

"Recognizing these women also gives us an opportunity to honor the great companies that foster their careers," said Cydni Tetro, Executive Director, Women Tech Council and CMO at FamilyLink. "We were overwhelmed by the support these companies made to their finalists."

Each Award Recipient received a hand-crafted statue entitled "Defying Gravity," specially designed for the event by award-winning artist Andrew Smith. A selection committee from private industry, venture, government and academic communities selected the Finalists and Award Recipients

The six Award Recipients were recognized from a group of sixteen outstanding Finalists. The Finalists, listed alphabetically, are as follows:

  • Amy Rees Anderson, MediConnect Global
  • Reyhan Baktur, Ph.D., Utah State University
  • Sheh Bertram, Zions Bancorporation
  • Carol J. Campbell, Ph.D., ATK Space Systems
  • Carine Clark, Symantec
  • Nicole Toomey Davis, Governor's Office of Economic Development
  • Vicki E. Farrar, Esq., Catheter Connections
  • Cynthia Furse, Ph.D., LiveWire Test Labs and University of Utah
  • Carolyn B. McClain, Novell
  • Kelly McCrystal, SpectrumDNA
  • Laurie Nylund, Celio Corp
  • Pollyanna Pixton, Accelinnova
  • Cindy Sanders, Novell
  • Cindy L. Snow, ContentWatch
  • Angela Trego, Ph.D., P.E., ATK Launch Systems
  • Suzanne Winters, Ph.D., BioInnovations Gateway

"Defying Gravity" by Andrew Smith

This sculpture was especially designed by award-winning Utah artist, Andrew Smith, to uniquely represent achievement by women in technology. Each award statue was hand-crafted and engraved with the artist's name and sculpture title. More about the artist at www.andrewsmithart.com

Photograph by Smith Production


Vérité, Inc.