Women Tech Awards 2008


Women Tech Council partnered with MountainWest Capital Network to present the first Women Tech Awards on September 22, 2008.  The Women Tech Awards program was designed to recognize technology-focused women who are driving innovation, leading technology companies, and are key contributors to the community. The 300-person sold out event was emceed by Shauna Lake of KUTV 2 news and Vicki Saunders, CEO of Impactanation, keynoted the event.  Fifteen finalists were selected by a panel of qualified judges, and five Award Recipients were presented with a unique statue designed especially for this event.  Representatives from Omniture, Epic Ventures, USTAR, Canopy Ventures and Workman Nydegger presented to the following women:


Deborah Eppstein, Ph.D. , Q Therapeutics, Leadership Excellence
Sanchaita Datta, FatPipe Networks, Technology Innovator
Tamara Goetz, Ph.D., Utah State Science Advisor, Community Builder
Michelle Gunter, MarketStar, Rising Star
Sally Brown, Autoliv, Professional Excellence 
View photos of the event here
Devin Thorpe, President of MountainWest Capital Network and Managing Director of TOIP at USTAR, said "The Women Tech Awards program has established itself as the premier recognition for women in technology. We were honored to co-present this program and be able to recognize so many great and talented women in the community."
"The five women awarded the Women Tech Awards represent exactly what we established this program for, leadership, innovation, community involvement and passion." said Cydni Tetro, Executive Director Women Tech Council and VP of Products and Marketing at NextPage. "We were proud to honor all of the women involved in the 2008 Women Tech Awards."The finalists previously announced, listed alphabetically, are as follows:
Amy Rees Anderson, MediConnect Global, Inc.
Sally Brown, Autoliv
Cheryl Snapp Conner, Snapp Connor PR
Sanchaita Datta, Fatpipe Networks
Deborah Eppstein, Q Therapeutics
Juliana Freire, VisTrails
Patricia Goede, VisualShare
Tamara Goetz, GOED
Michelle Gunter, MarketStar
Rachael Herrscher, TodaysMama
Inita Lyon, University of Utah
Brenda Mann, Sentrx Animal Care
Jan Miller, Standers
Xinru Page, NextPage
Susan Preator, Imagine Learning
An honorary award was also presented to the founding board of the Women Tech Council.


"Defying Gravity" by Andrew Smith

This sculpture was specially designed by award-winning Utah artist, Andrew Smith, to uniquely represent achievement by women in technology. Each award statue was hand-crafted and engraved with the artist's name and sculpture title. More about artist: www.andrewsmithart.com

Photograph by Smith Productions

Vérité, Inc.